Thursday, April 25, 2013

CaPoNe-N-NoReaGa`s "iLLeGaL LiFe b/w STiCK YoU" [CD SiNGLe]...

Here`s another single from Capone-N-Noreaga released in 1996 thru Penalty Recordings. This 6 track single includes 4 songs & 2 instrumentals. While 3 of the 4 songs are from C-N-N`s debut album "War Report", you also get the Iraq Mix of "L.A, L.A." which isn`t featured on the album. In my opinion the song`s not really as good as the version that appears on the album for 2 reasons. The first being that the beat`s not as iLL, while the second`s just the fact that it`s shorter in length & it`s annoyingly edited. Sure the Kuweit Mix (I know it`s spelled incorrectly but that`s how it appears on the CD) is edited as well, but it`s done in a better way with some cool sound effects :)  I never did find out why "L.A, L.A." is edited, so if anyone knows the reasoning behind the decision please feel free to school me. Now for those folks that were under a rock during the whole East/ West Coast beef that was takin` place in the late 1990's "L.A, L.A." was a retaliation joint to the Dogg Pound`s "New York, New York" track which is why the original version of "L.A., L.A." has a beat that`s real similar to the Dogg Pound`s track, check the songs below to hear what I mean...

Now go `head & check out the single, you`ll be glad ya did believe that...

Label: Penalty Recordings
Released: 1996

1. Illegal Life {ft. Havoc & Tradegy Khadafi}
2. Illegal Life [Instr.]
3. L.A., L.A. [Kuweit Mix] {ft. Tragedy Khadafi & Mobb Deep}
4. Stick You {ft. Tradegy Khadafi}
5. Stick You [Instr.]
6. L.A., L.A. [Iraq Mix] {ft. Tragedy Khadafi & Mobb Deep}


No comments: